Wood types

An excerpt from our range of woods

 

Not every wood is suitable for a LeuchtNatur luminaire. Because only the wood of a few strains can be grinded thin enough to shine through it later. Therefor the veneer selection is an extremely important step in the production.


In our veneer selection, we also pay particular attention to an extravagant and flawless veneer that makes the luminaire a real eye catcher later.

 

 

Wood type: Red gum

 

Character / Colour:

This wood is characterized by a faint vanilla scent, an irregular grain, a fine, uniform texture and a silky shine. The tangential of the Walnut-like wood shows delicate, yet tasteful flat stanchions and similar stripes on the ra-dial surfaces. From time to time there are also flame-like patterns. The creamy white sapwood with reddish felling and shiny rosé to reddish brown-gray heartwood are processed separately.

 

 

 


Main area of natural occurance:
North America, from New York to Nicaragua

 

 

Wood type: Olive ash burl

 

Character / Colour:

A completely different appearance is given by the  otherwise delicate ash burl due to the presence of the Olive centre. The alternating dark brown and light brown wavy annual growth rings are warped by the grain growth into numerous colorful spirals. Through this striking color contrast, the image of the olive ash burl receives a very lively and busy appearance that stimulates the imagination.

 

 

 

 


Main area of natural occurance:
Europe up to mid-Russia, the Caucus and Asia Minor

 

 

Wood type: Birch burl

 

Character / Colour:

The unique growth pattern of birch leads to this especially decorative veneer. The grain is produced by firmly intergrown inclusions, most probably caused by viruses. Inside the wood structure, slight folds cause said inclusions, which clearly distinguish themselves through narrow and dark bark areas. Thus the overall picture shows an attractive flamelike drawing in beige hues.

 

 

 

 


Main area of natural occurance:
Europe, mainly Siberia and Scandinavia

 

 

Wood type: Vavone burl

 

Character / Colour:

The venerable Redwood giants occasionally produce elegantly structured root measles. The soft and velvety gloss veneers of Redwood burl have a rich reddish brown and warm tone. Through the arrangement of the dark burls in rowed groups, the veneer receives an orderly and structured appearance despite the vivid grain structure.

 

 

 

 

 


Main area of natural occurance:
Westcoast of North America, specifically South Oregon and California

 

 

Wood type: Cembra pine

 

Character / Colour:

The cembra pine provides classic wood for romantic farm furniture and interior furnishings in the Alpine regions. Engaged year rings give the wood a simple basic texture. The darker latewood on the tangential surfaces causes delicate flaps and on the radial surfaces light streaks. Marked accents are small to medium-sized, dark-brown branches, which appear in small groups in a raster-like manner. They give the veneer a decorative rural character. The sapwood appears yellowish-white, the heartwood, on the other hand, is yellow to light red-brown.

 

 

Main area of natural occurance:
Europe, Austria

 

 

Wood type: Hearted beech

 

Character / Colour:

Hearted beech is obtained from the "heartwood" from beeches, which are usually older than 80 years. This red core is irregular or cloudy in its color intensity and shape, so that the veneer image is given a spirited character. This character is impressively emphasized by the numerous clear beams, tangentially several millimeters high, reddish spindles ("dashes") and radial as equally high, flat mirrors. Only very few selected trees are suitable for veneer production.

 

 

 

 

Main area of natural occurance:
Europe

 

 

Wood type: Tineo

 

Character / Colour:

This hardwood from Chile emits a very exotic flair. The color nuances from an intense reddish-brown tone to an elegant dark-rosé. Frequently there are dark, almost grinded colour strips, which lead to vivid color contrasts in their irregular arrangement and their variable width. On the longitudinal surfaces, pore grooves and whitish cell contents structure the wood image.

 

 

 

 

 

Main area of natural occurance:
Chile and Argentina

 

 

Wood type: Cherry

 

Character / Colour:

Cherry has become a highly demanded species of wood, because it is a particularly beautifully colored, velvety, shining, noble wood, which assumes a warm, reddish to golden-brown hue. Due to its fine porosity, the veneer shows a discreetly elegant structure, which gives a delicate flare or inconspicuous stripes on the longitudinal sides. Altogether the cherry tree radiates a characteristic but not intrusive atmosphere.

 

 

 

 

Main area of natural occurance:
Europe and Asia

Holzarten

Ein Auszug aus unserem Holzsortiment

 

Nicht jedes Holz ist für eine LeuchtNatur-Leuchte geeignet. Denn nur das Holz von wenigen Stämmen lässt sich überhaupt so dünn schleifen, um es später durchleuchten zu können. Dadurch ist bereits die Furnierauswahl ein äußerst wichtiger Schritt in der Produktion.

 

Bei unserer Furnierauswahl achten wir außerdem besonders auf ein extravagantes und makelloses Furnierbild, das die Leuchten später zum echten Hingucker macht.

 

 

Holzart: Satin Nussbaum

 

Charakter / Farbe:

Das dezent nach Vanille duftende Holz zeichnet sich durch einen unregelmäßigen Faserverlauf, eine feine,  gleichmäßige Textur und einen seidigen Glanz aus. Auf den Tangentialflächen des dem Nussbaum ähnlichen Holzes zeigen sich zarte aber dennoch gediegene Fladerungen und auf den Radialflächen ebensolche Streifen. Bisweilen finden sich auch geflammte  Dekore. Das rahmweiße Splintholz mit rötlichem Einschlag und das glänzend rosé- bis rötlichbraungraue Kernholz werden getrennt verarbeitet.

 


Hauptvorkommen:
Nordamerika, von New York bis nach Nicaragua

 

 

Holzart: Olivesche Maser
 

Charakter / Farbe:

Ein ganz anderes Erscheinungsbild erhält die sonst zarte Eschenmaser durch das Vorhandensein des Olivkerns. Die abwechselnd dunkelbraunen und hellbraunen  welligen Jahresringestrukturen werden durch den Maserwuchs zu zahlreichen farbigen Wirbeln verschlungen. Durch diesen markanten Farbkontrast erhält das Maserbild der Olivesche ein sehr lebhaftes und bewegtes Aussehen, das die Fantasie anregt.

 

 

 


Hauptvorkommen:
Europa bis Mittelrussland, Kaukasus und Kleinasien

 

 

Holzart: Birke Maser
 

Charakter / Farbe:

Eine einmalige Wuchsform der Birke führt zu diesem besonders dekorativen Furnierbild. Die vermutlich durch Viren hervorgerufene Birken Maser entsteht durch fest verwachsene Einschlüsse. Innerhalb der Holzstruktur kommt es aufgrund leichter Faltungen zu diesen Einschlüssen, die sich durch schmale und dunkle Rindenanteile deutlich hervorheben. So ergibt sich im farblich beigen Gesamtbild eine attraktive flämmchenförmige Zeichnung.

 

 

 


Hauptvorkommen:
Europa, hauptsächlich Sibirien und Skandinavien

 

 

Holzart: Vavona Maser
 

Charakter / Farbe:

Die altehrwürdigen Redwoodriesen erzeugen gelegentlich elegant strukturierte Wurzelmasern. Die  weichen und samtig glänzenden Furniere der Redwood Maser haben einen satten rotbraunen und  warmen Grundton. Durch die Anordnung der dunklen Maserkerne in reihigen Gruppen erhält das Furnierbild trotz der lebendigen Maserstruktur ein geordnetes und strukturiertes Aussehen.

 

 

 

 


Hauptvorkommen:
Westküste Nordamerikas, besonders Süd-Oregon und Kalifornien

 

 

Holzart: Zirbelkiefer

 

Charakter / Farbe:

Die Zirbelkiefer liefert das klassische Holz für romantische Bauernmöbel und Inneneinrichtungen in den Alpenregionen. Engliegende Jahrringe verleihen dem Holz eine schlichte Grundtextur. Dabei bewirkt das etwas dunklere Spätholz auf den Tangentialflächen zarte Flader und auf den Radialflächen leichte Streifen. Markante Akzente setzen kleine bis mittelgroße, dunkelbraune Äste, die in kleinen Gruppen rasterartig auftauchen. Sie geben dem Furnierbild ein dekorativ ländliches Gepräge. Das Splintholz erscheint gelblichweiß, das Kernholz dagegen gelbrötlich bis hellrotbraun.

 

 

Hauptvorkommen:
Europa, vorwiegend Alpenraum

 

 

Holzart: Kernbuche

 

Charakter / Farbe:

Kernbuche wird aus dem „Kernholz“ von Buchen gewonnen, die meist älter als 80 Jahre sind. Dieser Rotkern ist in seiner Farbintensität und Form unregelmäßig oder wolkig ausgebildet, sodass das Furnierbild einen temperamentvollen Charakter erhält. Dieser Charakter wird durch die zahlreichen deutlichen Holzstrahlen, die tangential als mehrere Millimeter hohe, rötliche Spindeln („Striche“) und radial als ebenso hohe, flächige Spiegel hervortreten, eindrucksvoll unterstrichen. Nur sehr wenige ausgesuchte Bäume sind für die Furnierherstellung geeignet.

 

 

Hauptvorkommen:
West- und Mitteleuropa

 

 

Holzart: Apfel Tineo

 

Charakter / Farbe:

Ein exotisches Flair verstrahlt dieses harte Holz aus Chile. Die Farbe nuanciert von einem intensiven rötlichbraunen Ton bis zu einem eleganten dunkel-rosé. Häufig sind dunkle, nahezu grünschwarze Farbstreifen vorhanden, die in ihrer unregelmäßigen Anordnung und mit ihrer variablen Breite zu lebhaften Farbkontrasten führen. Auf den Längsflächen strukturieren Porenrillen und weißliche Zellinhalte das Holzbild.

 

 

 

 

Hauptvorkommen:
Südamerika, hauptsächlich Chile

 

 

Holzart: Kirsche

 

Charakter / Farbe:

Kirschbaum ist zu einer sehr gefragten Holzart avanciert, denn es ist ein besonders schönfarbiges, samtig glänzendes, edles Holz, welches nach Lichteinfluss einen warmen, rötlich- bis goldbraunen Farbton annimmt. Aufgrund seiner Feinporigkeit zeigt das Furnierbild eine dezent-elegante Struktur, welche auf den Längsseiten eine zarte Fladerung bzw. unauffällige Streifen ergibt. Insgesamt verstrahlt der Kirschbaum eine charakteristische, aber nicht aufdringliche Atmosphäre.

 

 

Hauptvorkommen:
Gesamter europäischer Raum, Asien